

Dr V Narayanan, FNAE currently serving as the Director of the Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre (LPSC), Thiruvananthapuram has been appointed as the next Chairman of the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO). Dr Narayanan shall officially assume the role on January 14, 2025 as a worthy successor to Mr S Somanath, FNAE and illustrious Leaders who preceded in that position to make ISRO as epitome of self-reliance and stellar achievements to continually make India proud. With nearly four decades of

experience in the Indian space sector, he has held several pivotal positions in ISRO, specializing in rocket and spacecraft propulsion. He also served as the Project Director for the C25 Cryogenic Project of the GSLV Mk III.

Dr V Narayanan was elected as a Fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE) in 2015 and is affiliated to INAE Engineering Section VII (Aerospace Engineering). He is currently a Member of the INAE Governing Council as representative of Department of Space (DOS) and had also earlier served as a Member during the periods 2016-2018 and 2019-2021. He was a Member of INAE Sectional Committee VII (Aerospace Engineering) during the years 2016-2018 and 2019-2021. Dr V Narayanan as Director, LPSC was instrumental in the successful conduct of the Ninth Engineers Conclave-2022 organized by INAE jointly with Space Research Organization (ISRO) in October 2022 Thiruvananthapuram. With two themes focusing on "Space for National Development" and "Transforming India into a Global Manufacturing Hub" the deliberations during the conclave emanated in actionable recommendations towards implementation of the two themes.