INAE Young Engineer Award

Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE) was established in 1987 to promote the advancement of and excellence in the practice of engineering and technology and the related sciences and disciplines. It is a 'peer' body of the most distinguished engineers from the entire spectrum of engineering profession in the Government, R&D Laboratories, Academia and Industry.
The Academy undertakes programmes on technology policy issues of national concern and recommends measures for appropriate action by policy makers, planners and administrators for the overall development of the country. One of the objectives of the Academy is to encourage inventions, scientific investigations and research to promote their application for development of all sectors of national economy.
With a view to promoting the pursuit of excellence in the field of 'Engineering', the Academy instituted the INAE "Young Engineer Award" in 1996. The selection for this prestigious Award is made by a Committee of distinguished Fellows of INAE on the basis of prescribed criteria. The names of all previous awardees are given in the INAE Website: (
Purpose of the Award 
To recognize outstanding achievements /contributions made by Young Engineers in any branch of engineering.
Any citizen of India not older than 35 years as on the 1st of January 2018.
A nomination is valid for one year only. A candidate may be nominated for two successive years, subject to his/her age not exceeding 35 years.
Engineering research, excellence in engineering design, technology development and technology transfer. Work submitted for consideration of the Award should have been carried out totally in India.
Call for Nominations 
Nominations are invited from engineers working in academia, government, R&D laboratories and industry. The sponsor must be either a Fellow of INAE or Head of the Organization/ Institution where the nominee is working.
The nominations are to be sent on A-4 size paper in the prescribed format given in the brochure. (Ink signed copy of the nominations are to be sent, in case the same has been downloaded from INAE website). A CD containing a soft copy of the same be also sent in MS Word along with the hard copy of the Proforma.
Last Date for Nomination 
The last date for the receipt of nominations is March 31, 2018.
The Award 
The Award shall consist of a cash prize of Rs.1 lakh and a citation. All INAE Young Engineer Awardees will also become INAE Young Associates” on the conferment of the award and shall continue to be “INAE Young Associates” till attaining 45 years of age.
The decision of the INAE Council shall be final.  
Presentation of the Work of the Nominee 
The Award is in recognition of engineering research, excellence in engineering design, technology development and technology transfer. The short listed nominees will be invited to make a 12 min presentation followed by a brief 8-10 min of interaction with the Selection Committee on dates to be announced later. The 12 min presentation, strictly based on a maximum of TEN slides, shall be made on a prescribed format, which shall be forwarded to the shortlisted nominees, subsequently. C.V. of the candidate is not required for presentation.
Forwarding of Nominations 
The nominations should be addressed to: 
Executive Director
Indian National Academy of Engineering,
6th Floor, Unit No. 604-609,
SPAZE I-Tech Park, Tower A,
Sector 49, Sohna Road,
Gurgaon – 122018
Phone : 0124-4239480
Fax: 0124-4239481
E-mail :
1 Mr. Naimesh R Patel, Scientist/Engineer-SE, GLMD/OPMG/MESA, Space Application Centre, ISRO, Ahmedabad (Opto-Mechanical design and development of optical payloads for imaging satellites)
2 Dr. Supreet Saini, Associate Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, Mumbai. (Biochemical Engineering)
3 Dr. Praveen Kumar, Assistant Professor, Department of Materials Engineering, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore. (Mechanical behaviour of materials with emphasis on electric field and length scale effects, Mechanics and materials related reliability issues in microelectronics packages, Electromigration and its constructive engineering applications)
4 Dr. Poonam Kumari, Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, IIT Guwahati, Guwahati. (Smart materials and structures)
5 Dr. Aritra Hazra, Assistant Professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai. (Design Verification, Formal Methods, VLSI CAD)
6 Dr. Arpita Patra, Assistant Professor, Department of Computer Science and Automation, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore. (Cryptography)
7 Dr. Sandeep Anand, Assistant Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, Kanpur. (Power Electronics)
8 Dr. Mayank Shrivastava, Assistant Professor, Department of ESE, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore. (Nanoelectronic devices, power semiconductor and system on chip)
9 Dr. Samaresh Das, Assistant Professor, Centre for Applied Research in Electronics, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, New Delhi. (Silicon based photodetector from visible to infared wavelengths, Non volatile memory devices, short channel Nanowire field effect transistors: junctionless, Quantum devices for future electronics)
10 Dr. Sushmee Badhulika, Assistant Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Hyderabad, Telangana. (Nanomaterials, devices and circuits, Flexible and wearable nanoelectronics, paper based eco-friendly electronics, electrochemical nanosensors)
The Forms Will Be Available Shortly.