INAE Outstanding Teachers Award

The award aims to recognize and honour teachers in Indian Colleges, Universities, and Institutions, who have provided guidance and inspired students to take up careers in Engineering and Technology. All disciplines of Engineering and Technology will come under the purview of this award. There will be a maximum of TWO such awards per year. The awardees shall receive a citation, a cash award of Rs. 1.0 lakh and a one time book grant of Rs.25,000/-.

One award will cover the disciplines of Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Aerospace Engineering and Mining, Metallurgical and Materials Engineering. The other award will cover Computer Engineering and Information Technology, Electrical Engineering, Electronics and Communication Engineering, Energy Engineering and Interdisciplinary Engineering and Special Fields. The nominees should have been recognized for their outstanding abilities in teaching already by peers, institutes, and students. Such abilities can be measured on a weighted scale in terms of consistent high scores in teacher evaluation by students (where existent), which rates the expert professional knowledge and understanding of the subject by the teacher, quality of teaching, and ability to motivate and inspire the students. The outstanding teacher should be of unquestionable honesty, integrity, and moral character. The quality of teaching and research can also be measured in terms of best teacher awards obtained by the nominees in their own Institutes.

The nominee should be working or have worked in India for a minimum of 10 years, and have at least 20 years of teaching experience at undergraduate or postgraduate level in any College/ University/Institution.  

The teacher should be a Fellow of INAE and be nominated by two Fellows of INAE. A Fellow may forward only one nomination in a year. Those Fellows who have already received the INAE Life Time Contribution Award in Engineering, or, Prof Jai Krishna Memorial Award/Prof SN Mitra Memorial Award or are members of the Selection Committee for Life Time Contribution Award in Engineering, Prof Jai Krishna Memorial Award, and Prof SN Mitra Memorial Award, or, the Governing Council should not be nominated. As per the eligibility criteria, the nominations shall remain valid for three years and re-nominations shall be accepted.

A nomination shall be made in the prescribed format (Annexure) along with all supporting documents; two hard copies and a soft copy in MS-Word only (in a CD/through e-mail at The nomination proforma can also be downloaded from INAE website The last date of receipt of nominations is 15th of May each year. The Nominations that are not complete or received after the due date shall not be considered.

The Selection Committee for Life Time Contribution Award in Engineering, Prof Jai Krishna Memorial Award, and Prof SN Mitra Memorial Award will select the awardees/    


Recipients of Outstanding Teachers Award


Prof. Sri Niwas Singh

Prof. Sri Niwas Singh has contributed to the power system profession in several roles: as a competent utility engineer (appreciation for the first 800 kV transmission system design study of UPSEB), as a world-class researcher (more than 400 published research papers) and as an outstanding educator (accolades from IEEE & IIT Kanpur). Prof Singh switched to academics in 1996. Since then, he has been a faculty/researcher in several prestigious universities across the globe. He has conducted 18 special courses for utility engineers and teachers. Dr Singh has written six book chapters and two text-books and developed two very popular NPTEL video courses. He has already mentored 27 PhD and 40 M. Tech. students. His distinctive way of teaching, meticulous supervision, strong knowledge-base and rich experience have been a key factor in the brilliant performance of his students. For his mammoth contribution to the engineering education, he has received the prestigious 2013 IEEE Educational Activities Board Meritorious Achievement Award in Continuing Education, the first to be won by any person from Asia. .


Prof Sunil Kumar Sarangi

For Prof Sunil Kumar Sarangi, teaching engineering has been a passion. Spanning over a period of four decades, his contribution to engineering education covers all important aspects of university life: class room teaching, research guidance, academic administration and social life involving students, faculty colleagues and the wider scientific community. Prof Sarangi has been involved in academic administration at the highest level, particularly as Director of NIT, Rourkela. Under his leadership NIT, Rourkela entered international ranking in both QS (BRICS Countries) and Times Higher Education surveys. He has also made visible contribution to the growth of the NIT system as a whole, thus bringing superior educational opportunities to tens of thousands of young engineers around the country.


The Forms Will Be Available Shortly.